Board of Directors

The expertise and guidance of the South Carolina Cancer Alliance Board of Directors helps us achieve our mission: to improve the prevention and early detection of cancer, as well as the treatment of those affected by this disease. Our Board is made up of leaders in the healthcare field and the community at large. Click here for more information.


Tanya Baker, BSN, RN, CIC

Carolina Pines Regional Medical Center

Deborah Crawford-Butler, RN

Nurse (Retired)

Harley T. Davis, MSPH, PhD

South Carolina Department of Disabilities and Special Needs

Ciaran Fairman, Ph.D., CSCS, CET

University of South Carolina

Marvella Ford, PhD

Medical University of South Carolina

COL (R) Mark Hennigan

Beaufort Memorial Hospital

Beth Johnson, BS, Political Science

American Cancer Society Action Network

Kristopher J. Jones

Brookland Baptist Church Foundation

Sarah Kershner, MPH, PhD

Francis Marion University

Amy Messersmith, PhD

Presbyterian College of Pharmacy

Anthony Poole, DMSc, PA-C

Medical University of South Carolina

Michael Slapnik, CPA

Scott and Company

McKenzie Speed, MPH

Gibbs Cancer Center and Research Institute

Dr. Natalie Tavale-Lawrence

TD Bank

Karen Wickersham, PhD, RN

University of South Carolina

Members Not Pictured

Beth Poore, M.Ed.


Natasha Stoudemire, MSN, RN

Lexington Medical Center


Help The Cause

The Alliance relies on active involvement by individuals and organizations statewide to assess priorities and to develop, implement, and evaluate the success of our projects. The Alliance leadership, which includes our Board of Directors and staff, provides a statewide infrastructure; however, only through the grassroots efforts of committed partners across the state will we achieve our goals. Get Involved